Help Me Decide Between Silver Sky or Mario Martin

Discussion in 'Non-Fender S-Type Guitar Forum' started by thekingzepp, Jul 24, 2021.

1. thekingzepp

thekingzepp New Member!

Hey all, this is my first time posting here in a lonnnggg time. I'm looking to pick up a new S-Type guitar. I currently own a 60th anniversary 1954 AVRI Strat, and a 1993 PRS EG-1 with HSH pickup setup with coil tap. I'm looking to either pick up a PRS silver sky, or custom order an s type from Mario Martin. Where I live there's no sales tax, so a new SS would cost me $2400usd and my current spec on an MM would cost me about $2850usd.

I took my 2 aforementioned s type guitars to a store to shoot them out with a silver sky. The one I tried played better than any guitar I own. By play better I mean I found myself playing better on that silver sky in the couple minutes I was trying it than I was on my own instruments. Something about the feel of that guitar just made things easy to play. I don't know if it was the setup, or the guitar, or a combination of the two.

The pros to the Mario Martin is an almost masterbuilt level of craftsmanship for only 400-600 more than a production off the line silver sky would cost me. The con with the MM is it would be a 12-14 month wait, I won't be able to play it before purchasing, and I absolutely loath the look of the headstock. I don't like how edgy the shape is and I think the huge MM signature is a little obnoxious.

Curious to hear your thoughts on this. Appreciate any feedback or recommendations.

My current spec for the Mario Martin comes out to around $2850usd and is as follows:

Type: S
    Body: Alder
    Neck: Maple
    Fingerboard: Madgadcar Rosewood(Brazilian for $215 more?)
    Nut width: 1.65"
    Neck profile: Chunky C
    Frets: 22
    Fret wire: 6230
    Radius: 7.25"
    Pickups: undecided
    Finish: 3 tone sunburst, vintage tint gloss
    Nut: Slotted bone
    Tuners: 11/32nds"