Join Strat-Talk Today

Help me find my sound! Fender/Squier pickup help.

Discussion in 'Pickup Forum' started by BobArmpit, Oct 7, 2019.

1. BobArmpit

BobArmpit New Member!

Hello guys!

Looking forward to your help on a journey to find my ideal pickup sound. I've tried to read as much as possible but I'm stuck.

First off I am a drummer by nature, since I was very young. I picked up guitar on the side a while ago and have gotten serious about it lately but have never had lessons or an in depth understanding of music theory. I mostly played metal riffs with humbuckers but once I found the sound that single coils offered I bought a strat and fell in love. I am mostly interested in Hendrix/Frusciante style playing.

I would like to find the right single coils for my specific taste, and here is my dilemma:

I first bought a used Squier Bullet Strat. This was my first experience with owning single coils (Previously owned Ibanez and Gibson with humbuckers). I loved the sound! I also knew I would have to upgrade since I only paid $60 for the guitar, I knew there were much better options out there.

I upgraded to a 60's MIM road worn strat. Really liked the guitar and the sound only it was lacking in "oompf" compared to the Squier. I think I was missing the bass response. I sold this and purchased a brand new American Professional Strat. I loved the feel of the guitar and look (Antique Olive), but I really hated the Vmod pickups. To me it didnt sound like most strats I was used to (mine, ones played in stores, and friends guitars). I sold the stock Vmod pickups for a Seymour SSL1 loaded pickguard. The sound is better than what came stock, but if I am honest, I am still truly not happy.