Help

Discussion in 'Acoustic Soundboard' started by mark b, Dec 25, 2011.

1. mark b

mark b Strat-Talker

Right I'm new to guitars started playing and taking lessons on a American strat about 10 months ago but I would like to get a small bodied acoustic to strum away in the house and any help and advise would be great
    Thanks
    Mark

2. sevycat

sevycat Custom Shop Cat

Look for an OM model acoustic, nice projection and not a deep body as a D style acoustic. I am sure you can find one in just about any price range.

3. LeftyBlake

LeftyBlake Most Honored Senior Member

What's your price range? If you want an amazing, small bodies acoustic, look for a Larrivee P-01, P-02, P-03, or if you want to spend a little more on a gloss model, the P-05.

Check out the soundclips of the P-05. I'm currently GASing for a P-05MT, all mahogany. IMO, there isn't a better parlor guitar on the market under 2k than the Larrivees.

If you want something bigger than a parlor, the OM or 00 models are good sizes as well. I have a Larrivee L-03. I paid $885 out the door, brand new for it. It's made in Vancouver, BC, all solid woods and it's a phenomenal guitar. It's much smaller than a Dreadnaught and not quite as curvy as an OM.

4. Strategist

Strategist Strat-Talker

Hey Mark,
    I just found a Sigma guitar that will fit your bill if you can locate one. They were a guitar made in the 90's under the Martin name farmed out to 'made in Korea' under Sigma name. The models are the size of a 00 [15" lower bout x 4" deep] and are called GSC, Grand Concert Series and the #1 is the lowest cost to #7 the best made. My GCS-1 was under $100. See my post here "Good Deal Day" for pics. They're a great/well made inexpensive instrument.

5. mark b

mark b Strat-Talker

Thanks for the fast replies
    Looking to spend about £300 gbp so the Larrivee Is out
    Mark

6. Strategist

Strategist Strat-Talker