Join Strat-Talk Today

How did you learn to play?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by Bangbang, Sep 27, 2008.

1. Bangbang

Bangbang Senior Stratmaster

Self taught?books,cd,dvd,instructor......all the above?

2. Shades of Blue

Shades of Blue Most Honored Senior Member

My dad bought an acoustic on a whim when I was 13. After two weeks he gave up and I took it up. I had a teacher for 3 years and he told me one day that he had to fire me because I was teaching him more than he had taught me and he said I was a natural. Played in two bands but now I just play for my church in our praise band.

The BEST way to learn is by playing with your favorite cds and maybe getting tab books to your favorite songs. Before you know it you are playing 10 or so of your faves and learning in the process.

I learned about 4 Joe Satriani songs from tabs when I was 16 and never looked back lol.

3. S. Rock

S. Rock Senior Stratmaster

I started in 1966. I had a book with chords in it and each night I'd learn 3 chords. before long I finished the book and daddy brought home another chord book(Mel Bay). after a while, I started listening to albums by Cream, Buffalo Springfield, and others. the rest came from within. no teachers, just picked stuff up along the way or figured it out. it may be a downfall, but I have my own style and it's gotten me this far.

Last edited: Sep 28, 2008
  4. Boris Bubbanov

Boris Bubbanov Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

Learning concert music (mostly wind instruments) in school certainly helped.

But although I did learn a bit from older friends and neighbors on stringed instruments, my path took off while I got paid instruction from a guy named Don Goodwill. He was a few years older and played in one of the better bands in our community; taught me a lot. Taught me to play more by playing less.

5. LanDindsey

LanDindsey Strat-Talk Member