How do I use Garage Band?

Discussion in 'The Effect effect' started by Nadnitram, Mar 29, 2020.

  1. Nadnitram

    Nadnitram Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    4,824
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Location:
    The Heartland
    @fezz parka mentioned in another thread that @Antstrat could use Garage Band as a looper.

    I have guitars. I have amplifiers. I have 1/4 inch cables. I have an iMac with Garage Band.

    What equipment do I need to link it all together? Do I need some sort of fancy interface? cables?
     
  2. Antstrat

    Antstrat Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    4,613
    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Location:
    Over There
    I have it on my iPad and just use the iPad mike. Have no clue how to use an iMac.
     
  3. RetVet2018

    RetVet2018 Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    81
    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Location:
    Washington
    I’m guessing you’ll need a microphone to pick up the amp’s sound, and that signal will need to be sent to an audio interface which will connect to your computer. The connection to your computer depends on whether it has USB, lightning, etc. Or you could hook up your guitar directly to a DI instead of recording from a microphone.
     
    dogletnoir likes this.
  4. scooteraz

    scooteraz Strat-O-Master

    Messages:
    839
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    IDK. I just use an Apogee Jam and run directly into Garage Band.
     
    Guitar_RN_75 and fishermike like this.
  5. Chipss36

    Chipss36 Strat-Talker

    Age:
    57
    Messages:
    180
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2018
    Location:
    Texas
    You need an interface.
    And make sure it has instrument inputs, most interfaces are set up for mics...not all, but most.
    Best to run direct, and get the hang of this before the whole mic thing..

    many low cost options available.
    After many years.
    And two studios...I am an audient guy.
    Great conversation, “dacs”
    good pres, usable clean gain
    at a good price point.
    the evo 4 looks like a good place to start...
     
  6. s5tuart

    s5tuart Perfecting time travel since 2525 Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    13,477
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Location:
    All over the place!
  7. dogletnoir

    dogletnoir V----V Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    11,157
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Location:
    northeastern us
    i'd recommend bumping up to the 2i2.
    i use a lot of time based FX, like delays and stereo choruses, so having 2 inputs is a must for me,
    hence the 2i2 instead of the Solo.
    Stereo in/out is not a bad thing to have sooner or later anyhow, and for not that much more cash, either.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2020
    Nadnitram, s5tuart and Andrew Wasson like this.