HSS Humbucker wiring question

Discussion in 'Pickup Forum' started by retroLS1, Jul 21, 2014.

1. retroLS1

retroLS1 Strat-Talk Member

Hi all

First post here, so please bear with me. I picked up a new American standard HSS strat a few months ago and I will be changing out the humbucker this week. I have an SD TB-11 due to arrive today, assuming FedEx doesn't make plans otherwise. I have done a lot of searching online regarding the wiring and diagrams for this and just wanted to confirm it with you folks before having to do and redo anything.

I have usually had my father work on all my guitars & basses over the years as he has been doing this stuff for 40+ years so I trust him. I have all of the tools and I want to have my first go at it myself. I figure this one should be straight forward enough. I have soldered before so I am not a complete novice. This is more concerning "which wire goes where". The Fender colors differ from the Seymour Duncan colors which is ok, except the diagrams I have seem to differ and I just am wondering why? Here are the two main diagrams I am using:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The diagram on the left is from SD and the one on the right is from Fender (newest one I could find). I basically want to wire this up exactly the way my guitar is wired now, but just with the SD in its place. I believe the Fender is wired up from the factory with the "auto split" where the bridge humbucker is split when in the 2nd position on the 5-way switch. Please correct me if I am wrong. From the looks of it, according to the pickup color code chart, the Fender green wire (north start) gets soldered to the back of the volume pot. On the SD pickup the north start (black) goes to the 5-way switch. Is this correct? Fender also has the north and south finish wires getting soldered & taped together, whereas SD has them going to one of the 5-way switch lugs.