HWY1 Neck/setup issue

Discussion in 'Tech-Talk' started by Steelskin, Feb 26, 2009.

1. Steelskin

Steelskin Strat-Talker

Hi guys, as some may know i recently got a 07 highway 1. So far I like it, but im having issues getting it setup right. I think I may have got a dud. First issue is the neck. I cant get it to straighten. Im pretty sure the truss is still working, i can feel it turn, but not like its broken. It is tightened all the way and the neck got a bit better but not straight, or even close to it.

I do know a luthier that would be able to put a new truss in it for a fare price but i dont really want to go there. Nor do I want to sell it.

I have to admit that im not very good at setups yet. So i could be just doign it all wrong. Also the thicker strings are not sitting in the nut comfy.

Was wondering if anyone had any advice? Ive thought about releiving the truss and hanging it for a while, or taking the neck off and letting it sit for a bit without tension. The wood is not old and im wondering if any of these things would help?

Thanks guys

2. BOD2

BOD2 Strat-O-Master

You need to be careful with truss rod adjustment. It takes time for the changes to take effect so if the rod needs a large adjustment then this should be done over several days (ok - an experienced luthier could do it quicker but we're talking DIY here).

The general advice that I've seen is that, once the truss rod nut becomes tight, you should only give it a further quarter turn, then leave the neck to settle into it's new adjustment - overnight is a good idea.

Go back to it next day. If it still needs further adjustment do the same - a quarter turn and then leave it to settle.

Try Googling "truss rod adjustment" for more advice. If this doesn't help then you need to find someone with some more experience.

Never over tighten the rod - it really shouldn't need excessive force to turn.

3. gcconspiracy

gcconspiracy Strat-O-Master