Join Strat-Talk Today

If you were to buy a Strat neck...

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by WineCaster, Oct 14, 2015.

1. WineCaster

WineCaster Strat-O-Master

Would it HAVE to have tuners and pre-cut nut to earn your interest or intent to purchase? Does the idea of acquiring these items and most likely installing them yourself turn you off to the idea of purchasing a custom finished neck in the $300-400 price range?

2. ChefBlue

ChefBlue Senior Stratmaster

If I were to buy a "custom" neck that was shaped and finished to my exact spec, I would not have a problem w/ installing my own tuners and nut. But, understand, I'm a wanna be luthier and a fairly good amateur tech.

3. Mr. Lumbergh

Mr. Lumbergh needs you to go ahead and come in on Sunday, too. Strat-Talk Supporter

For that money, I would expect the hardware to come with it.

4. Highwaystrat

Highwaystrat Senior Stratmaster

If its a brand new neck from a very good comoany like fender, that can be an alright price, or either a little too pricey or actually a decent price. $500 can get you a killer neck but it might not come with tuners and already dialed in nut, string trees, but it might be a decent value, and one of the best necks youll ever play and keep.

I ended up putting split shaft tuners on mine, graphtec strung trees that I adjusted the height, and nut cut ti my unique gauge of strings.

Ifit fits your hands nicely, it might very well be worth buying tuners and going over the nut with. Ive had very good experiences with necks that suit me well.

Id say go for it if you've played the neck before and know it's right for you.

Cuz nothing beats a killer neck!

You also want the tuners You want, the nut cut to suit Your needs, and you get your choice of string trees, most of the time they arent even drilled yet.