Intonation help

Discussion in 'Telecaster/Esquire Forum' started by bazinga70, Sep 15, 2020.

  1. bazinga70

    bazinga70 Strat-Talk Member

    Age:
    50
    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Location:
    Uk
    Hi, I’ve been trying to set the intonation on my tele but I’m not getting anywhere. I started on the top E but at the 12th fret it’s showing “d” on the tuner No matter how far back I go with the saddle.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated. F2C0C91B-BCBE-48FA-8789-79DB0BC1789F.jpeg
     
  2. nickmsmith

    nickmsmith Dr. Stratster Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    11,633
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    Pawnee, Indiana
    may have to hear audio of that. Rare for it to be off a half or whole note. Tuner could be messed up, too.
     
  3. Brillig

    Brillig Strat-Talker

    Messages:
    470
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Philly Area
    12th fret is the one with two dots. ;)
     
  4. bazinga70

    bazinga70 Strat-Talk Member

    Age:
    50
    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Location:
    Uk
    I didn’t think about that,I’ll try a different tuner although the fender one I used is also brand new. That doesn’t mean anything though. I’d take it for a setup if there was anyone local but I’m in the sticks.
     
  5. bazinga70

    bazinga70 Strat-Talk Member

    Age:
    50
    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Location:
    Uk
    Lol thanks for that.
     
    Jerseystratfiend likes this.
  6. Brillig

    Brillig Strat-Talker

    Messages:
    470
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Philly Area
    Your guitar would be completely unplayable if that was the case and I think it's actually impossible for a real guitar to be that far off.

    Maybe your tuner is messed up, in which case you can do it by ear without a tuner. A little trick I do when I don't have a tuner is play the harmonic on the twelfth fret then press down. You'll hear the "pulse beat" (I forget what it's called but hopefully you know what I mean) similar to when you do the old fashioned harmonic string tuning on 7 and 5 and you can adjust intonation to that.
     
    bazinga70, nickmsmith and rafasounds like this.
  7. rafasounds

    rafasounds Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    3,673
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    Brazil
    It could be showing a D#, almost getting into E, but that still would be a huge difference (a lot of commas). Check the open string to see if it's really in the middle of the E note.
     
    bazinga70 likes this.
  8. dirocyn

    dirocyn Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    45
    Messages:
    3,556
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Sometimes automatic tuners will pick up a harmonic or overtone, I have a Snark tuner that will tell me the high e is an A. Consider a different tuner. I never have that issue with the smartphone app I use, it displays the hz so there's less chance of confusion.

    If your high e is in tune open and plays a d at the 12th fret, the string length is way too long. It looks like the saddle is all the way back, it needs to move way forward.
     
    bazinga70 and Brillig like this.
  9. bazinga70

    bazinga70 Strat-Talk Member

    Age:
    50
    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Location:
    Uk
    I did measure from the nut to the saddle and it is at 25.5 as it should be,I’m starting to think it’s the tuner so I’ll try a different one thanks
     
  10. ThebiggestJerk

    ThebiggestJerk Strat-O-Master

    Age:
    119
    Messages:
    857
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    Location:
    Home
    Do you retune every time after you shorten/lengthen the saddle?
     
  11. bazinga70

    bazinga70 Strat-Talk Member

    Age:
    50
    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Location:
    Uk
    Yes
     
  12. henderman

    henderman Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    9,279
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Location:
    largo,fl
    if the strings are old and funky they will not intonate well.
     
  13. train

    train Strat-Talk Member Silver Member

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Location:
    Nashville
    Does your tuner work with the other strings. Also looks like you have got more threads to go.
     
  14. Neophyte16

    Neophyte16 Strat-Talker

    Age:
    26
    Messages:
    155
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Location:
    Philippines
    Some pedal tuners are not good with intonation.
     
  15. bazinga70

    bazinga70 Strat-Talk Member

    Age:
    50
    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Location:
    Uk
    I’m gonna switch my brain off for an hour and come back to it.
    strings are about 3 month old, I have another set I should probably put on.
     
    SunburstHSH and Bob the builder like this.
  16. bazinga70

    bazinga70 Strat-Talk Member

    Age:
    50
    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Location:
    Uk
    I don’t have a pedal tuner, fender headstock clip on and app tuner
     
  17. Triple Jim

    Triple Jim Guy Who Likes to Play Guitar Silver Member

    Messages:
    5,880
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Location:
    North Central North Carolina
    In the photo the e saddle looks too close to the bridge end of its travel. Unscrew it to get it closer to the nut about a quarter inch and see what you get on the tuner.
     
    Bob the builder likes this.
  18. Believer7713

    Believer7713 The Pink Bunny Frankenstein Strat-Talk Supporter

    Age:
    46
    Messages:
    9,919
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Location:
    KC
    What kind of tuner are you using? I use a TU-3 on the strobe mode that shows if it is sharp or flat within the note. If you don't have a needle or strobe to gauge with you still won't get it truly intonated.
     
  19. bazinga70

    bazinga70 Strat-Talk Member

    Age:
    50
    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Location:
    Uk
    Hi, its a fender ft-1 just clips on to the headstock, it has a needle but digital. I’m thinking it’s a tuner problem. I’ll see what happens on my other guitar with it.
     
  20. bazinga70

    bazinga70 Strat-Talk Member

    Age:
    50
    Messages:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Location:
    Uk
    I’ve had the saddle fully back and it’s the still same on the tuner, I’m gonna switch my head off for an hour I’ve got brain fry lol,I’ll post an update later when I’ve tried all the suggestions thanks