My iPad studio is outpacing my computer

Discussion in 'Home Recording Studio' started by diverse379, Jul 29, 2020.

1. diverse379

diverse379 Strat-O-Master

I am an amateur recording producer
    I have been honing my craft since the 80’s back then it was a four track
    In the 90’s it was a digital
    8 track

And that is where it ended for me
    I
    Never got on board with protoools

so I bought tascam
    24 track hardisk
    Recorder and I have been doing really well.

last update I bought an mpcx and the associated akai daw the mpc also works well as an interface so I felt I was all set

that was two years ago and it’s still in the closet collecting dust I only pulled it out once or twice so what had my attention?

May iPad garage band I am recording all my guitar and bass and vocals on it and I am even buying apps mostly sound shaping not too many vst’s since I have ample keyboard gear. I know the sound quality isn’t the same but for my purposes of just getting the creativity out I am in a perfect place.

literally can record daily and often the material comes out great my mic is nearby so whatever vocals I want to add can be done instantly.

I am facing a new dilemma my iPad is running out of space and upgrading will cost 800.00 is it worth it to put this money into something that can’t make the professional leap?

if I want to start to release my music shouldn’t I turn my attention toward the gear that can make that happen?

2. Miotch

Miotch Senior Stratmaster

Probably should strongly consider a switch if you are wanting to release your music.
    I've worked in the studio with ProTools and it is still the gold standard, in my opinion. But it is expensive and most decent plugins are probably going to set you back, too.