Join Strat-Talk Today

My Japanese 1987 Fender Strat... Maybe?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by Aslix, Sep 13, 2019 at 2:18 PM.

1. Aslix

Aslix Strat-Talk Member

Hi,

I'm a beginner and I'd like to know if this is a real Fender. If it is, I'd like to get to know more about it. I bought this Fender in the summer in a local guitar store in Finland.
    I never actually looked this guitar up in the internet before I bought it, but now I can't find anything similar to the guitar in the net.
    I hope you can help me out.

(it also has a tremolo system)

Sorry for the quality... 15683984097541380014687868477831.jpg 1568398457714874055142560703884.jpg 15683984967329162535198772579996.jpg

2. Guitarmageddon

Guitarmageddon Squier Freak Strat-Talk Supporter

Welcome to the forum! OF COURSE this is a real Fender - it's made in Japan around 1987. The model is ST-535 but yours is a bit different as it has the same tremolo as the ST-455 and 456. This probably makes it an early example before the catalog for 1987 came out. It's probably 24.75" Gibson scale and 12" fretboard radius - can you measure and confirm?

https://stratomaniac.com/component/flippingbook/book/17/1?page=14&Itemid=357

Yves and Andrew Wasson like this.
  3. Aslix

Aslix Strat-Talk Member

Thank you!!
    I'm sorry, what do you mean by the measurements? And I'm so pleased to hear that it's an actual Fender, even a custom one. Thank you!

4. Guitarmageddon

Scale length is how long each string is from the nut behind the first fret, to the bridge saddles at the strumming end.......

99.9% of Fender Strats are 25.5" inches on average when you measure that......Gibson is shorter at 24.75" it means the playable string length is 3/4 inches shorter. Shorter scale length means less distance between frets, and easier to bend strings, and a different feel.