Join Strat-Talk Today

My Katana 100 died yesterday

Discussion in 'Amp Input - Normal or Bright' started by ido1957, Jul 14, 2019 at 10:16 AM.

  1. ido1957

    ido1957 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    Sound just stopped. Took it home and everything on the back seems to still function and I get sound through the headphones. Speaker seems to be intact. Probably a IC or something. The worst part will be waiting for the parts.

    Anyone else ever have this happen?
     
  2. Dadocaster

    Dadocaster Dr. Stratster Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    15,394
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Location:
    Sachse TX behind the cemetary
  3. Johnny Danger

    Johnny Danger Senior Stratmaster

    Age:
    36
    Messages:
    1,172
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Did you test the speaker out with another speaker? You could also check continuity from the speaker cable jack back to the mounting tabs.
     
    Lovnmesomestrat likes this.
  4. ido1957

    ido1957 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    The guy at the shop did when I brought it in. He said the repair tech gets peeved if they don't test at least obvious things like cables etc before taking it in haha.

    He was very positive it's "minor" and parts are quick from Roland/Boss. I'm predicting a month lol.
     
    Lovnmesomestrat and johnnymg like this.
  5. vid1900

    vid1900 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    4,210
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    Pop a new power amp module into it and they'll have you back online in 5 minutes

    uMLvOlb.jpg
     
    fos1 likes this.
  6. vid1900

    vid1900 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    4,210
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    In fact, make sure you get the dead module back from them, because you can replace the amp chip for $5 and keep it as a backup module for next time.

    s-l1dfg600.jpg
     
    Bob the builder likes this.
  7. Dewey

    Dewey Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

    Age:
    55
    Messages:
    8,802
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    Bellingham, Wa.
    How old is your amp? Mines still pretty new and I haven't had any problems.
     
    JB74 likes this.
  8. Thrup'ny Bit

    Thrup'ny Bit Grand Master Curmudgeon Strat-Talk Supporter

    Age:
    60
    Messages:
    25,765
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Location:
    A pub in Yorkshire

    @johnnymg did. Boss repaired it under warranty, but I think he had to pay the shipping back to them.
     
    DaveTone and johnnymg like this.
  9. johnnymg

    johnnymg Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    5,960
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Central Coast Cali.
    According to the repair paperwork the power supply needed to be replaced on my amp. This was shortly after a series of power outages so it's possible the amp was damaged by AC line spikes (the local utility power pretty much sucks). My neighborhood power (underground) is fed from above ground lines which get hit by tree falls every winter. I've got my current K100 combo and head powered through a 'computer type' AC filter now. Seems to have survived the last set of power outages. :thumb:

    I highly doubt most people would be able to diagnose and repair one of these amps. Would require troubleshooting skills and the appropriate equipment which few have. I've done a bit to this type work but I don't currently own a scope. Thinking about getting one but it's hard to justify the cost based on what I would expect to be the likely rare use of it. Tempting though!

    This is how NOT to "repair" electronics. Watching this made me alternately laugh and cry:
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2019 at 4:27 PM
    vid1900 and Thrup'ny Bit like this.
  10. vid1900

    vid1900 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    4,210
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    That was painful to watch; almost as bad as watching The Guitartolgist hopelessly poke around until he stumbles into a repair.
     
    JB74, Lovnmesomestrat and johnnymg like this.
  11. axejock

    axejock Strat-O-Master

    Messages:
    807
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Location:
    Washington State
    Granted mine gets light use, but I have never had a problem with it. It is the 100-212 model and a very nice amp. Sure hope I don't have that problem, but will be interested to find out what's going on with yours.
     
  12. ido1957

    ido1957 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    I bought it new February 2019 so 5 months ago.
     
    Dewey likes this.
  13. johnnymg

    johnnymg Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    5,960
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Central Coast Cali.
    Then, you're 'golden'. Good for you that you can just take it to an authorized tech.

    Did you try resetting the amp back to the default firmware config?
     
  14. ido1957

    ido1957 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Canada

    No because internet posts similar showed no fix by resetting
     
  15. johnnymg

    johnnymg Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

    Messages:
    5,960
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Central Coast Cali.
    I did my best google-fu and only found two other 'my katana died' treads. Both were for main PCB board replacements. Given how many of these amps have been sold I'm surprised I couldn't find more threads on these things crapping out. I guess that's good news.
     
  16. Dewey

    Dewey Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

    Age:
    55
    Messages:
    8,802
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    Bellingham, Wa.
    That's not very much play time.
     
  17. sgarnett

    sgarnett Strat-O-Master

    Age:
    54
    Messages:
    614
    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Location:
    Versailles, KY
    My <ahem> first wife <cough> was less-than-impressed by the old DuKane vacuum-tube scope I found at a yard sale. It came with a bright yellow homemade cart and looked rather spiffy in our living room, I thought .... :whistling:

    I keep watching for home scope options that are small/portable enough, capable enough, and cheap enough, but haven’t found one I can justify yet. Oh well, there’s always nights and weekends at work ....
     
    johnnymg and Lovnmesomestrat like this.
  18. BallisticSquid

    BallisticSquid Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    3,839
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Location:
    US
    I think there are probes you can get that plug into your PC via USB.
     
  19. sgarnett

    sgarnett Strat-O-Master

    Age:
    54
    Messages:
    614
    Joined:
    May 19, 2019
    Location:
    Versailles, KY
    There are, and they are probably adequate at audio frequencies. Considering how much time I spend holding probe(s) with one hand, twiddling knobs with one hand, and, ummm, operating the device-under-test with my third hand, PC-based models seem pretty clunky. It’s been a long time since I tried one though.
     
  20. DaveTone

    DaveTone Strat-O-Master

    Age:
    54
    Messages:
    521
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Location:
    NJ
    That still sucks. They should have paid the shipping - at least after ruling it wasnt the buyer's fault.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2019 at 10:57 AM
    Bob the builder and Dewey like this.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.