Join Strat-Talk Today

N P D - 'verb time...

Discussion in 'The Effect effect' started by longboard blues, Dec 1, 2019.

1. longboard blues

longboard blues Strat-Talker

NPD…

Was out at the weekend looking for a fuzz pedal – my local guitar shop has a black Friday deal on Hotone pedals, so had the weeny fuzz for 60% off.

Got there, out of stock. While I was there, I asked if I could test drive a Strymon Big Sky. Oh my, that’s a thing of beauty -loved it, but it’s predominantly a studio effect, to me, and not a live one – and my band is mostly about live and loud. Oh, and the $900 tag – whilst it’s not a problem affording it, I struggle to *justify* it.. I’m not good at spending money!

So I nipped over to another shop, and tried out a TC electronics hall of fame2, with the toneprint and the mash button. Not quite a big sky, but has some absolutely beautiful presets, and the ability to completely customise the patches through a nice simple GUI on my ipad. Got it for 30% off too – most happy with it! First rehearsal tonight – expect everything to shimmer like silk

Still didn’t get a fuzz though……

Deathray, vlxerdon and Duane_the_tub like this.
  2. ajb1965

ajb1965 Old Enough to Know Better Strat-Talk Supporter

Big Sky is an absolutely amazing pedal for sure. The main reason I ended up selling mine was playing in a rock band only used about 1/10 of the power of that thing. Sitting at home playing by myself it filled up the room and washed every surface with ambient goodness. If I was only doing that, or was in a position to play PW or some other style where the guitar was more than just the guitar, I'd have kept it. Since it's such a high demand pedal I was able to sell it and not lose my a$$ and bought a Line 6 HX FX when they were on sale a few months ago.

If I was going to go back to a standard pedalboard the HoF2 would be my first choice for reverb with a Flashback in front of it. I love TC pedals. The mash button and toneprints are really cool features.