Join Strat-Talk Today

NAD - Mod Kits DIY M102 Tube Amplifier

Discussion in 'Amp Input - Normal or Bright' started by LarsN, Jul 7, 2019.

1. LarsN

LarsN Strat-Talker

It took me about a month to build, and then troubleshoot this one, mostly because I only worked on it for a little bit each time I got it out. Once it was all together it had a terribly loud 60 cycle hum, and connecting an input cable turned that up to 11 regardless of where the volume was set.

A little bit of time tracing leads, and I found a disconnected filament wire, and a couple of solder joints I wasn't happy with. I fixed those up, and cleaned up the Pots, and input jack holes as I noticed they weren't grounded like they should have been and now it works great.

Here are a few Photos of the build process. And then a Video clip at the end. Please pardon the playing. I'm still learning.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cfW64Jzg9_4

JB74, Miotch, mapleglo and 6 others like this.
  2. Robins

Robins Dr. von Loudster Strat-Talk Supporter

Yes, tone to the bone. This is a straight no bull**** amp.
    I like it.
    Great job.

Life is good,
    Robin

JB74, Miotch and LarsN like this.
  3. BuddhaFingas

BuddhaFingas Strat-Talker

Good to see soldering stuff up from scratch isn't a lost art just yet... I will definitely be building an amp some day.
    Well done!

Miotch and LarsN like this.
  4. LarsN

LarsN Strat-Talker

My Guitar instructor when I told him that I was going to build a tube amplifier as part of my "guitar journey" thanked me. What he doesn't know yet is that this amplifier pictured above is his.

It's all point to point wiring, which these days you would pay a fortune for a point to point wired guitar amplifier. This one is no frills, bare bones, and man it sounds fantastic. The little Celeston 70 Eighty 1x12 in the open back Ibanez cab sounds pretty great as well.