New here with my 1957 - how often do you play/store yours?

B108Fender

Strat-Talk Member
May 31, 2022
California
Hi all - the Clapton strat has been my main guitar for 15+ yrs... but only owned my 1957 for under a year. I'm pretty new to the world of vintage... really enjoying my 1957. I play mine every day so it's always out and about (my room is generally 40-50% humidity year round). She's no closet queen - but she sure can sing.

(just did a small video: in case you're wondering what she looks/sounds like through a few amps)

So how often do you play yours and how do you store it on a regular basis?

Nokie

Strat-O-Master
Jul 31, 2018
Congrats on the acquisition of that amazing '57!! I especially like the clean tones you achieve at 2:25, 4:11 and 5:09 in your excellent demonstration. You hit on all the big pluses of playing a '50's Strat. Having a light weight one is a major plus, IMHO. The large neck with the soft V is especially nice if you play primarily with your thumb around the neck.

I play my '55 daily. It's also light at 6.75 lbs. I didn't do as comprehensive a video as you but I do demonstrate it on the short clip below. More deets are discussed in this forum at this link. Best of luck on the recording of your album and with that amazing '57 Strat!!

Last edited:

Bazz Jass

Chairman of the Fingerboard
Silver Member
Nov 19, 2014
Off the map
Hi all - the Clapton strat has been my main guitar for 15+ yrs... but only owned my 1957 for under a year. I'm pretty new to the world of vintage... really enjoying my 1957. I play mine every day so it's always out and about (my room is generally 40-50% humidity year round). She's no closet queen - but she sure can sing.

(just did a small video: in case you're wondering what she looks/sounds like through a few amps)

So how often do you play yours and how do you store it on a regular basis?

Welcome! That's one hell of an entrance you've made here :)

ripgtr

Most Honored Senior Member
Feb 16, 2012
austin