Newbie ALSO with my first strat "Kit"

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by HamClaw, Jul 21, 2020.

1. HamClaw

HamClaw New Member!

Hi-

My name is Bill and I'm glad to be here! I'm an over-the-hill bad guitarist and retired systems administrator who was NEVER a very good musician. I was in
    one of those crappy high school bands in the late 60s/early 70s which typically broke up and went our separate ways. At college, my SG ( $275 brand new at Sam Ash in the early 70s !!!! ) collected dust
    and am still kicking myself for selling it. Now, 4 decades later, I'm trying to keep my knuckles oiled and
    struggle to get thru "Puff TMC" - anyhow I am going to keep plugging. I've got an LP Classic and a
    an EDS "kit" replica (worked on this one for a long time. It's not great but not awful either and more fun
    to [try to] play than my lp) -the 12 string neck sounds awesome. So now I've picked up a Strat kit-
    which obviously has a bolt in neck instead of glue-ins like my EDS had. I've got 2 (maybe dumb) questions
    but I figure it can't hurt to ask anyhow - (1) Kinda worried about drilling and putting the 4 screws at the
    base of the neck. I'm not a newbie to wood or metalworking stuff but depending on the type of wood-
    I'm wondering if there is a widely used technique to make sure that I won't inadvertently cause cracks in
    the neck when installing the screws. And (2) haven't checked the neck for straightness or with a fret rocker yet but is it ok to do any fret leveling before drilling the base mounting holes?

As a side note- all of our original high school band members went to the same school. There was a church