NGD, and more to come

Discussion in 'Other Guitar Discussion' started by dirocyn, Jun 30, 2020.

1. dirocyn

dirocyn Senior Stratmaster

I bought a new (used) guitar today. It's a The Loar LH350, which I suppose is a sort of poor man's Gibson L4CE. Although honestly I was thinking ES-175, I do love that florentine cutaway. I haven't tried it out plugged in, just briefly played it acoustically when I met the previous owner in a parking lot in Nashville.

My wife says I need to let it sit in a closet for 72 hours. She's right, of course. Nashville is having some pretty serious problems with this pandemic and I don't need to be cavalier about it. But I just want to get it out and play it. Ugh, resisting temptation sucks.

Sorry about the photo quality, the light is not good (and I'm a lousy photographer).

[​IMG]

AND

I also got the winning bid on a Goodwill auction for a Horugel acoustic guitar. Near as I can tell, this is a name Samick bought in the late 60s. It looks to me like a copy of a Gibson J200, including flowers on the pickguard but not the mustache bridge. I don't like mustache bridges anyhow. I have no idea whether it needs work, taking a chance on this one. Obviously it'll need cleaning and strings.

[​IMG]

Seems like I was just saying I still want a jumbo and a jazz box. Life is good.

The Guild I ordered over a month ago still hasn't arrived--I'm gonna run out of guitar stands.

2. mikej89

mikej89 Senior Stratmaster

Both nice guitars!

Jesse414 and dirocyn like this.
  3. Bladesg

Bladesg Funk Meister Strat-Talk Supporter

Nice! Congrats and enjoy

dirocyn, Martin Mim and Jesse414 like this.
  4. Jesse414

Jesse414 Senior Stratmaster

Happy double new guitar day to you !! They look really nice. :) What kind of pickup is on the Loar?

Martin Mim and Bladesg like this.
  5. Martin Mim

Martin Mim Strat-O-Master

Great finds. Enjoy!

dirocyn likes this.
  6. bojanbeo

bojanbeo Strat-Talk Member

Beautiful !

dirocyn likes this.
  7. dirocyn