Join Strat-Talk Today

Nut Materials

Discussion in 'Tech-Talk' started by axejock, Jul 13, 2019.

1. axejock

axejock Strat-O-Master

This has probably been discussed in detail here before, but I can't find any info on it. Anyway, I just took an original MIM Strat to my Luthier to have a new nut installed (the original owner had widened the slots in the original nut for some crazy oversized strings). I didn't even think about it when he said it, but the Luthier told me he would install a "bone" nut....they were the best! Are they? I know there are lots of materials used for the nuts on a guitar, but I have never dealt with anything but the ones that came on the guitar. What other materials are available for this and are there some that are better than others? Kind of a basic question, but it's never too late to learn!

JP68 likes this.
  2. Class A Knob

Class A Knob Senior Stratmaster

I'm a Graph Tech Tusq XL kind of guy myself (especially for vibrato equipped guitar)

Last edited: Jul 13, 2019
  3. vid1900

vid1900 Senior Stratmaster

Bone is super hard, good stuff, looks like it belongs on a guitar.

Brass was super trendy for it's **sustain** in the 80s and now seems like it's coming back again.

Stainless Steel and Titanium come around, probably mostly for their looks.

Fender makes a LSR Roller Nut that never hangs up, no matter what size strings you put across it. If you use your tremolo bar, you will love it.

There are tons of slippery plastic nuts, some even come in black, if that's your thing.

and of course, there is the plain plastic nut that probably costs Fender a penny, lol....

axejock likes this.
  4. Class A Knob

Class A Knob Senior Stratmaster

I watched this about a week ago and found it pretty informative. And its StewMac, so of course I'll watch it.

Yves, vid1900 and axejock like this.
  5. Namelyguitar

Namelyguitar Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

Bone nut- made from that part of a cow. Yes!