Original parts for '89/'90 Strat Plus

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by Quacker, Jan 13, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Quacker

Quacker Strat-Talk Member

Hi all,

I bought my strat used in the early 90s. It had Seymour Duncan Livewrire pups on it. I would love to know what pickups were on it originally and my hope is that someone here has one like it or knows more about it than I do.

I believe the GOTOH branded black locking tuners were standard on that model? My guitar is black and also has a black pick guard (8 holes).

Thanks for more info on my guitar :)

Stefan

2. CapCrunch

CapCrunch Strat-Talker

I believe they had Lace Sensor pickups. I bought an regular 1989 American Std Stratocaster back then and remember well when the Plus came out. I recently installed a loaded Lace Sensor pickguard with Hot Golds in it. I think the Jeff Beck and Eric Clapton models had Golds too. As far as tuners, Fender has branded locking tuners. I would go with that. It's my first time using Lace sensors and I am loving them!

3. Ace38

Ace38 Strat-O-Master

3 gold lace sensors, TBX tone control and brushed chrome ...I think 89's still had the Schaller...locking tuners. White 11 hole 3 ply pickguard.

beaz and CB91710 like this.
  4. John C

John C Most Honored Senior Member

Your are correct, sir. These would have had the brushed chrome/satin finish Schaller-made locking tuners. It's possible that some had satin-finish Sperzel locking tuners; Fender would swap in the Sperzels when they would run short of Schallers there in the late 80s/early 90s but the Schallers were the "spec".

5. Baelzebub

Baelzebub Most Honored Senior Member

6. ToneRanger

ToneRanger Most Honored Senior Member

Wilkinson nut too...

7. Bill ANN

Bill ANN Strat-Talk Member

Yeah let us see some pics of YOUR Strat Plus! Ha!

8. CalicoSkies

CalicoSkies Most Honored Senior Member Gold Supporting Member