1. Enter to Win one of two Strats we are giving away! An American Pro II Strat HSS and a Squier Classic Vibe Strat. To see the prizes and rules: https://www.strat-talk.com/pages/2020_Fundraiser_giveaway/ To enter: https://www.strat-talk.com/account/upgrades To enter, simply upgrade to silver (1 entry), gold (2 entries), platinum (5 entries), or double platinum supporting membership (10 entries). November 5th is the last day to enter!

Pedal Board For An Old Guy

Discussion in 'The Effect effect' started by axejock, Sep 24, 2020.

1. axejock

axejock Senior Stratmaster Gold Supporting Member

I've been picking up pedals off and on for a few months lately, mostly through local sales and trades. This is definitely "new turf" for me as I have always used the onboard effects on my Roland Cube amp to get a sense of what pedals can do. My latest acquisition was a real pedal board, so I thought what the heck...I'm going to set this thing up. Following advice from friends and other "pedal guys", I got the basic order and layout that seemed OK, and proceeded to hook it all up with a Strat and my Deluxe Reverb amp. Wow! the sounds I can get out of these few pedals is seemingly endless and fascinating, so much so that I'm scratching my head to figure how to dial in all the pedals and amp settings to get the sounds I really want! It's a lot of fun and quite a divergence for an old plinker like myself. Can anybody give me tips on how best way to arrange and set-up these pedals to gain maximum utility and different sounds. The board has a Polytune in position one, followed by an older Route 66 dual function Overdrive and Compressor (really nice pedal), Boss Phase Shifter, a Boss Super Chorus, a Boss Tremolo, and a Boss Flanger. Everything works well, but I really need some "coaching" on how you folks might set something like this up!!

CIMG1444.JPG
    CIMG1445.JPG
    CIMG1446.JPG

2. 3bolt79

3bolt79 Most Honored Senior Member