Join Strat-Talk Today

Please, englighten me...

Discussion in 'Home Recording Studio' started by tdcdias, Jul 11, 2019.

1. tdcdias

tdcdias Strat-Talk Member

Although I understand a thing or two about guitars, I am an almost completely total noob when it comes to amplifiers / guitar amplification in general. I need some advice.

ABOUT ME: Apartment player/father. Looking for the highest tone quality possible with the least volume possible - preferably using headphones!

THE PROBLEM: I have a small valve amp which I love (Joyo Bantamp Bluejay), and I would like to use it with headphones. The amp itself has a phone output, but I am not satisfied with the tone it produces.

MY ASSUMPTION: The problem is that the cabinet simulation of the headphone output of the amp is probably not good. The emulation must be poor, just to give that option to whoever need it, and not focused on quality at all.

POSSIBLE SOLUTION: I should invest in a high-quality cabinet simulation pedal. I am looking at the Mooer Radar at the moment. As long as I use the Mooer Radar in front of the amp, and plug my headphones directly into the Mooer Radar, the cabinet simulation will be much better and my "headphones tone" will probably improve a lot.

QUESTION: Am I correct in my assumptions? Does everything work as I described? Would you recommend any other solution so I can have the tone of my amp through headphones with maximum quality?

Thanks in advance! Please help this complete noob who just wants to sound good for himself.

Sent from my SM-G9550 using Tapatalk

Last edited: Jul 11, 2019
    Omar likes this.
  2. heltershelton

heltershelton BANNED Strat-Talk Supporter

3. tdcdias