Join Strat-Talk Today

Polytune Clip vs Snark SN5X

Discussion in 'Tech-Talk' started by Green Sub, Aug 17, 2019.

1. Green Sub

Green Sub Strat-Talker

I just purchased a Polytune Clip ($48.39) and Snark SN5X ($8.79) that was shipped from and sold by Amazon.com.

The Snark arrived Thursday and the Polytune arrived Saturday (August 17, 2019)

My 4 guitars are a 2017 American Special Strat, 2018 Player Strat, 2018 Player Precision Bass, and 2019 Player Tele.

I'm a very novice player, but have been in Computer I.T. for 41 years. This test was right up my alley.

The Snark SN5X was so easy to use. Just a single on/off button. I really liked the thick pads and personally thought the plastic body was a plus not being able to accidentally scratch the guitar's finish, but not as durable as a metal clip.

I was intrigued by the Polytune Clip's options. The ability to tune in both polyphonic and the more precision needle modes. The metal clip with thinner pads seemed to be very durable, but I was a little nervous about the metal surfaces touching my guitar's finish when clipping if I wasn't paying full attention.

Now here is the shocking results of my test.

As mentioned, the SN5X purchase was made 2 days earlier, so all guitars were tuned Thursday.

To my surprise all 4 read right on the money with no adjustment when checking the string tune with the Polytune Clip more precision needle mode. Couldn't believe it. I detuned a few strings just to make sure I was performing the test correctly.

So my novice conclusion is if you need a durable tuner with the ability to tune in different keys or pitches, the Polytune Clip may just be right for you.

On the other hand the Snark SN5X is such a value for the money. So basic, but does an excellent job of tuning.

Stratbats and valor19 like this.
  2. Dadocaster

Dadocaster Dr. Stratster Strat-Talk Supporter