Join Strat-Talk Today

Rise of the Well-Hung StrapLab

Discussion in 'Sidewinders Bar & Grille' started by TVvoodoo, May 17, 2019.

1. TVvoodoo

TVvoodoo Strat-Talker Vendor Member

Hello Strat-Talk brothers and sisters.

My real name is Brad, and I am fairly new to this forum. One of the reasons I joined is I lurked a bit and liked the culture here, it's similar to one I've been a member of for over a decade. I am a member of several forums, and Strat-Talk is just the latest for me to join. Of course I already know a number of members here, there is a certain amount of cross-pollination between guitar and gear communities.
    As you may know I've already shared some original music, plenty of guitar pics and refinishing advice.

Another reason I joined is to see if I could promote my little strap-making venture here. I've been designing and building straps for about nine years now. I first started after I jumped out of a truck box like a 20 year old, and blew out my left rotator cuff, basically rendering my left arm useless for about 7 months, and after that I couldn't play without padding under my strap for another year or so. At that time, I learned to sew and started making my own guitar straps to match with my guitar refinishes, folks started asking... and I started supplying. The reviews were overwhelming. Nobody could believe that what a difference a padded comfy strap makes to the overall playing experience. People would play longer, and better, and favour only the guitars my straps were on. Over time, I bought heavier duty sewing equipment, etc... and it slowly grew from there.

Late last year I saw that my media selling job was about to be outsourced or AI'd, so I ditched and decided to give strapcraft almost my full attention, I also do a little graphic design on the side.
    My wife thinks I'm absolutely bat**** crazy. So, I'm practically just like the rest of you. LOL!

[​IMG]

https://reverb.com/ca/shop/well-hung-guitar-accessories