So I am new to this Craigslist thing.

33db

Senior Stratmaster
Dec 14, 2018
Earth
And I have to say it's been odd, for example I posted a Les Paul on and almost instantly got offers and sold it for close to what wanted.Then I tried another ad with a Strat, do me a favor and look this ad and explain to me why no one has bothered msg me about for several days now.
What did I do wrong on this one that I didn't on the other?

33db

Senior Stratmaster
Dec 14, 2018
Earth
Thanks for the input, I would have guessed the Strat would go before the Paul.

33db

Senior Stratmaster
Dec 14, 2018
Earth
LOL I can not for the life of me sign up for Facebook, it keeps locking the account, then I had to upload a photo etc, and it's under review.
Strange how hard it is to sign up just so I can look at their market place.

rcole_sooner

Most Honored Senior Member
Mar 11, 2010
Oklahoma City, OK
I think it may be priced a little high for quick sale. A quick google shows lots of them in the $1,200 range. For quick sale I'd think one would need to undershoot the competition.

crawdaddy

Most Honored Senior Member
Feb 11, 2010
Valley o Sun
I think you might be optimistic in your pricing.....much smaller market when you sell local so you really can't expect the same return as Ebay or Reverb...plus the web sites offer financing...etc....

Here are a couple of recent completed sales from ebay...

Sold for $950...seller probably received a little less than $900 after fees...

Sold for $885....

Sold for $1023...

I would think in a local cash sale...between $900 and $1000 would be a great selling price...

Best of luck....

nickmsmith

Dr. Stratster
Jul 28, 2011
USA
I also think it’s the price. Everybody’s looking for a bargain. Ideal resale prices just don’t move things very quickly, locally. Unless the item is rare.

This is an excellent example of a Strat with a nice case. But to the unwashed masses, it’s just a Strat over 1,000 bucks.