Join Strat-Talk Today

So what is your musical background?

Discussion in 'Sidewinders Bar & Grille' started by Heavyriff, Jul 17, 2019.

1. Heavyriff

Heavyriff Strat-Talker

I know I am new here but I thought I might ask. What is your musical background. I got involved with music in like the 3rd. Grade when I took up playing trumpet. I was taught how to play an instrument. How to read music. Music theory. I played the trumpet until i graduated high school. I also took an interest in the bass. Took drum lessons. And then after teaching myself bass taught myself how to play guitar.

2. IsaiasO

IsaiasO Strat-Talker

• Catholic Grade School Choir
    • Accordion Lessons (WTF!)
    • Guitar Lessons (Better than accordion, but I don't want to learn how to read and play Camp Town Races)
    • Self-taught to listen and pick up guitar parts from records...yes, RECORDS!
    • Brothers (bass and drums) & I form our own band rattling the picture windows, upstairs, from the basement, every chance we got. Banned by parents, we took the practices to the hall at the Catholic school) Guitar: Some cheap Japanese thing
    • Brother (bass) and I start playing at Catholic Folk Mass.
    • I started playing in high school "folk" band.
    • Brothers and I start playing with others in our area---jam sessions outside. Guitar: Epiphone
    • I "sit in" on other jam sessions in the area.
    • Go into the US Army after high school and found four other like-minded GIs. We start a band, practiced in the base rec center whenever we could get the equipment. Went on leave to Maryland and fetched my Epiphone.
    • Army band played base EM Club, German fests and German high schools.
    • Out of US Army; purchased a Les Paul Deluxe; moved to Washington State. "Sat in" with Country and Western bands, periodically. Practiced in Army drummer's parents' basement.