string change, tone change

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by archeetart, Jun 27, 2020.

1. archeetart

archeetart New Member!

stratocaster player hss. just had the guitar setup and strings changed as part of it. i'm new to playing, and had started paying attention to some minor fret buzzing and just came to the conclusion that the guitar needed to be setup. as part of the setup they brought the action down, lowered the tremelo (tightened the claw screws, it was high), re-strung and got the radius of the strings. honestly, don't know if they did a good job or i just got used to the from factory setup i had for the last 4 months. however the two most noticeable things that have come up is the buzzing seems worse (which maybe just raise the action a little) but the tone and feel of the guitar is different. i went from the stock fender 9s (believe they are the 250L) to ernie ball super slinky 9s. so gauge is the same between the strings, but the tone and sound are significant. did i like a sound that wasn't proper with the fenders, do the super slinky's suck, did i just get a bum set of strings?

guess the question is, any thoughts and i guess, do the super slinkys suck

2. nickmsmith

nickmsmith Jaguar Convert Strat-Talk Supporter

How old were the strings before the change? Changing from old strings to new ones, brightens up the sound significantly.

Ernie ball slinkys are good enough for hundreds of big name rock n rollers and other great players.. they’re not a joke, and there’s a reason they’re some of the more popular strings (outside of being cheaply priced.)

never had a single problem with slinkys of any gauge. Never could tell a whole lot of difference between fender 9s, Slinky 9s, musicians gear 9s, DR 9s, Daddario 9s.. all of them do the trick well enough

Last edited: Jun 27, 2020
  3. StummerJoe

StummerJoe Strat-O-Master