Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Warmoth.com darrenriley.com Amplified Parts Lollar Pickups Guitar Pickups

Join Strat-Talk Today

Technique question... Ring and pinky

Discussion in 'Tab & Music Forum' started by Minor7b5, Nov 1, 2017.

1. Minor7b5

Minor7b5 Strat-Talk Member

May 14, 2017
    USA
    I'v been battling myself with this for a while. I am self taught now going to college for a music minor. I taught myself incorrectly but it feels natural now. I use my pinky almost anywhere people usually use their 3rd. for pentatonic runs, I bend by pulling with my pinky. It's most comfortable and strongest for me. I know it's limiting so i'm fighting myself over reprogramming everything i'v learned up to this point...

ideas...advice?

davidKOS and skypeace like this.

2. QMTstrat

QMTstrat Strat-O-Master

Go with what feels right or natural to you... but do practice other techniques to help determine which way is best or most comfortable in the end :thumb:

skypeace likes this.

3. Dadocaster

Dadocaster Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

So if your index is on the 5th fret you would use your pinky on the 7th? That's interesting.

Technique is mostly a matter of smart repetition. Figure out what you need to do and create exercises for yourself to work on it. For you, just playing a chromatic scale over and over would help fix that and if you want to be specific to your issue, you could do a bend on every finger while doing the chromatic. Just takes time.

Mr. Lumbergh and skypeace like this.

4. rolandson

rolandson Senior Stratmaster

Jul 13, 2015
    Cascadia
    Stop fighting. It's not "wrong" if it works for you.
    Instead of trying to change it, work on incorporating another fingering technique into your repertoire.
    Scales. Just work scales up and down the neck over and over.

Believer7713 and skypeace like this.

5. Ebidis