Thoughts/current value of this 83 JV Squier

JonnyBGood

Strat-Talker
Mar 16, 2019
Uk
Looking at buying this, after haggling seller will take £750. Seller says the pickup switch has been changed but all else is original. Detailed pics, not sure what those holes in the headstock would be caused by?

JonnyBGood

Strat-Talker
Mar 16, 2019
Uk
Well in the time it took me to post this the seller has withdrawn, as the guitar he was hoping to buy is no longer available (and was the only reason he was letting the JV go).
:(

Tsjackson

Senior Stratmaster
Mar 15, 2016
UK
For what it’s worth, while that’s not a bad price at all (I’m no expert on JV squiers but I do keep a beady eye on how much stuff is going for in the U.K.) I think if you were buying it as an investment the holes in the headstock would’ve held it back in that respect.

If you were buying it as a good guitar I personally think there are better guitars to be had for that money, although without the historical significance.

If you were buying it because it’s a cool piece of fenders history I feel for you. But then I’d be looking for a nice tokai springy sound, and then never look back haha

JonnyBGood

Strat-Talker
Mar 16, 2019
Uk
For what it’s worth, while that’s not a bad price at all (I’m no expert on JV squiers but I do keep a beady eye on how much stuff is going for in the U.K.) I think if you were buying it as an investment the holes in the headstock would’ve held it back in that respect.

If you were buying it as a good guitar I personally think there are better guitars to be had for that money, although without the historical significance.

If you were buying it because it’s a cool piece of fenders history I feel for you. But then I’d be looking for a nice tokai springy sound, and then never look back haha
Funnily enough, I am also on the look out for a reasonably priced Tokai of the same era. :)

Number of reasons really - build quality, reputation, I prefer older/played in guitars to shiny new ones...