Join Strat-Talk Today

Truss rod access on Fender 50's classic reissue Stratocaster.

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by Scimmy, Jun 6, 2016.

1. Scimmy

Scimmy Strat-Talker

I'm a Stratocaster newbie as of two days. I have a Fender 50's Classic reissue with a gloss maple neck. My question is this: the truss rod access at the headstock is blocked by what looks like a tight-fitting plug of darker wood. The neck heel access is blocked by the pickguard.

Am I able to somehow remove the headstock plug, or will I need to de-string and remove the pickguard? This seems illogical as the truss should be adjusted with the guitar strung, surely.

I don't actually need to alter the truss, I'm just keen to learn in case I ever need to.

Thanks in advance!

2. nickmsmith

nickmsmith Most Honored Senior Member Strat-Talk Supporter

you'll have to remove the neck screws to access it. It's on the underside of the neck.
    That's how they were in the 1950s, although in my opinion it's a big hassle.

Scimmy likes this.
  3. Thrup'ny Bit

Thrup'ny Bit Grand Master Curmudgeon Strat-Talk Supporter

Capo on the third fret. Unscrew the 4 neck screws, adjust, put it back together.

4. Scimmy

Scimmy Strat-Talker

Dear me what a clart on!

So you aren't meant to access it from the headstock at all?

5. nickmsmith

Nope. A lot of classic styled Fenders have that "feature." Although I see no benefit.

But I love my Classic 50s strat. It is hands down my favorite strat I've ever played. Over any American made strat I've played, honestly.

6. Thrup'ny Bit

In the end it's a lot better than stripping the allen nut inside the modern plug adjusters. The bullets were much easier.

nadzab likes this.
  7. Scimmy

Scimmy Strat-Talker

I've only ever played one Strat, it's beside me now! Astonishing guitar. When I play it I feel sort of,...unworthy. I'm trying to improve!

aiabx and nickmsmith like this.
  8. nickmsmith