Join Strat-Talk Today

Vintage Modified Jaguar ...Should I?

Discussion in 'Other Guitar Discussion' started by dwt77, Feb 16, 2020.

1. dwt77

dwt77 Strat-Talk Member

Looking at a possible VMJ (sea foam green) ...Might be able to talk the guy down to 200. Seems like a really great deal. I'm supposed to go look at it tomorrow possibly. Anything special to look for with Jags as far as potential problems? I've never even touched one before...

Seems like a steal at 200 considering these are all in the 399 neighborhood or higher new.

circles likes this.
  2. fezz parka

fezz parka Duke of Dilligaf Strat-Talk Supporter

If you can get along with the 24" scale, then its a good price.

3. Stratoholic

Stratoholic Senior Stratmaster

I don't have a lot of nice things to say about Squier anything. It'll have soft frets, if the nut is original, it'll be very soft, and the VM's were made of basswood. A lot of people will say Basswood is okay, but I have a VM Jazzmaster, almost every screw hole was stripped out when I got it, it's simply too soft of a wood. I also saw a photo once of a VM JM that had been stripped. Underneath the finish was a lot of wood putty.

Now, a jag is a 24" scale guitar. Not 24 3/4", just 24. To operate correctly it'll need 12's. That's not just to have some tension on the strings so they don't flop around, it's also because the strings have virtually no break angle over the bridge. Almost every problem associated with the Jazzmaster/Jag bridge is because of user error mainly using light gauge strings, and also using the saddles to set the string height (that's a no no)