vintage noiseless pickups ?

Discussion in 'Pickup Forum' started by reload006, Feb 23, 2011.

1. reload006

reload006 New Member!

I have a mim fender strat that came with the ceramic pickups. I liked their tone bur wanted something that was a bit more glassy. I put in the Custom Shop '54 pickups and like them except that i cant stand that hum!

I was wondering if anyone has experience with the vintage noiseless pickups and if they will sound like the cs 54's but without the hum ?

2. mabley123

mabley123 Senior Stratmaster

i have no experience with them but i think kinman makes the best noisless pickups.

3. blackstratmaple

blackstratmaple Strat-O-Master

Lace Gold supposedly have a 50's sound without hum.

I have also heard good things about the Dimarzio Area set

4. D.Allen

D.Allen Senior Stratmaster

I do not like any noiseless pups at all. You can check all your grounds and jack. Buy a Fender pickguard shield for a 62 Strat it will cut maybe 75% of the hum. Last step is body cavity shielding. If they are well made and well potted pups they should have almost no hum when played clean. As you turn up the gain you should start to hear hum. I have had a number of studio musicians tell me my Strat pups are the quietest they have played. That said they will still have some hum. If you like the tone try to check your grounds and add the PG shield first it is easiest and will probably work for you.

5. phildobbin

phildobbin Strat-Talker

I use the Hot Noiseless pups. Wouldn't swap them back for the original single coils, no way...

6. BHighkin

BHighkin Senior Stratmaster

I also use hot noiseless. I tried vintage noiseless and thought they didn't have enough definition.
    Not really sure what glassy means, but check out the hot noiseless.

7. mralmostpopular

mralmostpopular Strat-Talker