What do i need to play RHCP snow riff?

Discussion in 'Tab & Music Forum' started by ManyRaam, Mar 9, 2021.

1. ManyRaam

ManyRaam New Member!

Hey there, i have been playing for 5 months and i always wanted to play Snow riff by rhcp, i have tried it but it is still difficult to me so i want to know what areas do i need to reinforce and how to do so i can play that riff in the correct way?

Thanks in advance!

2. guitarchaeologist

guitarchaeologist Le Misanthrope Silver Member

That's a very advanced riff for a beginner! It's an advanced riff for an intermediate player as well! But if you want to give it a shot, check out videos and tablatures.
    Here's one vid that breaks it down slowly...

I have a neighbor that is 16 and has been playing guitar going on a year (along w/ bass and trumpet). He is jumping into more advanced riffs and songs (RHCP and John Mayer are his go-to stuff) before getting the basics down. He can get the notes, but it has no tempo and no feel, no level of comfort or fluidity, so it generally doesn't sound good.
    My advice to him was to start with more basic songs and build up, and even though I haven't heard your playing, I might suggest the same for anyone that's been playing such a short time.

Last edited: Mar 9, 2021
  3. JonnyBGood

JonnyBGood Strat-Talk Member

What you need is lots more experience I'm afraid. Its a pretty quick arpeggio pattern with several position shifts and no let up, your alternate and cross picking needs to be very accurate, your left hand shifts need to be flawless and the two hands need to synchronise to pull it off. That's before we even think about the stamina needed to maintain it. There's no way I'd be giving that to a student who had been playing 5 months.

My advice would be this: