Join Strat-Talk Today

what specs for my laptop

Discussion in 'Home Recording Studio' started by Yves, Mar 24, 2019.

  1. Yves

    Yves Most Honored Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,165
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Location:
    London
    Brilliant! Do much valuable inputs. Big thank you to all of you!
    Very helpful.
    The old laptop is real dead. Kaput.
    I took it apart and tested the hard drive which was still fine. But the motherboard would have to be changed.
    Cheers!
     
  2. Yves

    Yves Most Honored Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,165
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Location:
    London
    Whoah! I think I guessed what that is referring to! fps: frame per second!
    Is that right?
    About a day and half a sleepless night later...
    Anyway, many thanks for your input in this thread @nederemer .
     
  3. Yves

    Yves Most Honored Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,165
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Location:
    London
    Many thanks @simoncroft for all this info.
    Good to know the i7 should easily handle the job and Reaper sounds the way to go.
     
  4. Yves

    Yves Most Honored Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,165
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Location:
    London
    Many thanks for your suggestions @vid1900 . That deal looks good, I check for what I need to pay over here for similar specs. Cheers!
     
    vid1900 likes this.
  5. Swampash

    Swampash Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Here
    Get a Mac
     
  6. pazman6

    pazman6 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    1,068
    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Location:
    Prairieville, Louisiana
    Your specs look fine to me - I record on i3, i5, Pentium Pro, and AMD A8 processors and usually don't have any issues. Get a solid state drive.

    I use a Pentium Pro on XP desktop with a solid state drive and can record 24 tracks at 24bit 48kHz with no problems. I mix on an A8 with 15 to 30 tracks and numerous plugins and it works fine. A solid state drive would help tremendously in my mix rig but I am too cheap to buy a 2 gig SSD and not willing to take the time to use clonezilla to move it to a smaller 1GB SSD.
     
    simoncroft likes this.
  7. Bowmap

    Bowmap I nose a thang or two. Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,758
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2017
    Location:
    Not there... or there.
    Those specs are fine. I run an old machine AMD FX 4350 Quad core at 4.2GHz. I have 8GB. Reaper runs well on it but I have just begun getting into DAWs so I do not have many plug-ins. Mine is not a laptop though. I built it about 5 years ago and do not have a need to change it. 448GB SSD and 2TB mirrored. Laptop screens an keyboard are usually my most annoying part if getting a laptop. So, I have a kybrd that is comfy to me and 2 ultrawide monitors. Having two monitors with a DAW is helpful. I have Reaper on one screen and Boss Tone studio on the other. My company's laptop is plugged into it all when I am in work mode, I use that real estate to great advantage.
     
  8. Yves

    Yves Most Honored Senior Member

    Messages:
    5,165
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Location:
    London
    So I ended up getting this..thing..
    IMG_20190622_205312.jpg

    Put more dosh into it then in any of the guitars I own, ( well if we exclude the mods). It's fast. But I'm still to do some recording with it. I'm thinking going for "Reaper".
    Then will need some pointers from you all...
    Cheers!
     
    Bowmap likes this.
  9. Bowmap

    Bowmap I nose a thang or two. Gold Member

    Messages:
    2,758
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2017
    Location:
    Not there... or there.
    I see it is a gaming laptop. NVidia graphics? Intel CPU. That just what I can garner from the picture.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.