What Tube amp to start with?

Discussion in 'Amp Input - Normal or Bright' started by ThaJuicyJuice, Oct 29, 2020.

1. ThaJuicyJuice

ThaJuicyJuice New Member!

I am a complete noob when it comes to amps-- the wife hates it when I plug in and play, but I have watched a fair amount of videos of vintage fender amps and would like to get a tube amp for practice and maybe small gigging in a 3 piece band. I currently have a Fender Mustang II modeling amp which is eh... I've listened to Matthew Scott on Youtube and am a sucker for that beautiful vintage sound. He walks through using various vintage Fenders and I'm not only jealous of all the rigs he has, but also of his playing.

I am guessing that a Blues Jr would probably be the place to start but is this as versatile for home practice and maybe small gigging?

And stupid question-- can you plug headphones into a tube amp?

Cyberi4n, TheDireStrat and bojanbeo like this.
  2. BlurgyWurgyWibble

BlurgyWurgyWibble Strat-O-Master

A blues jnr is a very affordable and hugely versatile amp. If you buy used it will probably hold its value too. :thumb:

Re: headphones, eh you can by using an audio interface or line out in to a mixer etc. Not worth the bother though. Better to just get a cheap audio interface like a Focusrite Scarlett Solo and software amps like Scuffham S-Gear etc. Its never going to sound better than a modelling amp.. so just get a cheap Boss Katana or something with digital fx/models and a headphone jack.

The thing about a real tube amp (1x12 or better) is that it moves air and excites the senses and inspires you. They aren't something I use daily tbh. I practice digital or solid state and save myself for a weekly session/blast on the real deal. The neighbours are much happier that way! If neighbours weren't an issue I'd just have an AC30 or a Marshall half stack for everything. :)

3. myredstrat

myredstrat Senior Stratmaster