Join Strat-Talk Today

What's a original contour body?

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by coltpeacemaker, Jul 31, 2019.

1. coltpeacemaker

coltpeacemaker Strat-Talk Member

G/day guys and girls! I'm new to Fender Strats and was wondering what does Fenders original contour body mean? Are there variations in Strats body shapes over the years! I've done some research but haven't found a lot so maybe someone might be kinda enought to give me a run down id be most greatful.
    Cheers...

rocknrollrich likes this.
  2. rolandson

rolandson Still Breathing Strat-Talk Supporter

Variations...probably.

In the day, when humans made things, things would fluctuate around ideal and reality. The Original Contour Body was Fender's answer to complaints surrounding the pain of the Tele's edges. They hurt. Still do, but real players, I am told, take the pain.

I don't like pain. So I have a Strat.

The variations would be found in the depth of the cutout along the top inside edge where one's ribs meet the guitar, and along the outside upper edge where the picking arm contacts the body. The places where it hurt to play the Tele.

One day the contours might be deeper than the next, or shallower, depending on whatever makes humans not machines.

Now they use machines so they're all the same. But somehow they get away with still calling it original. I don't understand that.

Last edited: Aug 1, 2019
    coltpeacemaker and Alan Crossley like this.
  3. coltpeacemaker

coltpeacemaker Strat-Talk Member

So Fender heard the crys from tele players and the contour body was born? Had the Strats body ever slightly changed during it's life? Funny thing is I'm thinking about getting a Telecaster lol

4. Chief101

Chief101 Senior Stratmaster

Some Tele’s now have contoured backs. Go figure.

coltpeacemaker and Deathray like this.
  5. helsinkirocks

helsinkirocks Strat-Talker

I have an 80s MIJ Strat and the belly cut out is HUGE comparatively.

6. AlexJCRandall