Which Boss foot switch would you get?

Discussion in 'Amp Input - Normal or Bright' started by dscottyg, Jul 12, 2021.

  1. dscottyg

    dscottyg Strat-Talker

    Age:
    54
    Messages:
    191
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2021
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    For use with a Boss Katana MK-II 50 watt, which footswitch would you recommend?
    FS-7 or FS-6? I’ll also use it to control features on the Boss RC-5 Loop Station. 83CDDDB5-43D3-491D-A3B1-1850BD0218AB.jpeg BFD15A16-BB63-49C7-8EE8-69D7B9F14EB8.jpeg
     
  2. ajb1965

    ajb1965 Old Enough to Know Better Gold Supporting Member Silver Member

    Age:
    55
    Messages:
    2,169
    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Location:
    Phx AZ - AKA The Surface of the sun
    I'd go for the FS-7 personally. Less real estate and can do latch or momentary. I have one on my board right now switching channels on a non Boss amp.
     
    dscottyg likes this.
  3. dscottyg

    dscottyg Strat-Talker

    Age:
    54
    Messages:
    191
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2021
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Thanks. What is latch and momentary?
     
  4. Bob the builder

    Bob the builder Most Honored Senior Member

    Age:
    61
    Messages:
    8,533
    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cranston, Rhode Island
    Latch mean you step on it,bit does what it should till ya step on it again
    momentary means step on it & hold it cuz when ya take your foot off it ain't doing nothing no more
     
    dscottyg and ajb1965 like this.
  5. Meghans Dad

    Meghans Dad Strat-Talker Gold Supporting Member

    Age:
    67
    Messages:
    347
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2021
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Actually the FS-6 can also do latch and momentary. My only reason for preference is that I find it easier to pick between A and B with my big foot.
     
    Electgumbo and PCollen like this.
  6. spinifex

    spinifex Strat-Talk Member

    Messages:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2020
    Location:
    London, UK
    I bought a cheap dual switch box instead of boss and have modified the living daylights out of it. I had the time, wanted to learn and did not have funds to splurge.

    To use with katana 50, latching switch (or latching mode) is recommended. Latching switch is effectively an on/off button. A Momentary switch will only turn on during the time the button is held down. Release the switch button and it turns off.

    The majority of guitar pedal effects we could buy are latching - the effect is on or off by pressing the button once.

    You will also need a TRS 1/4" lead to plug one end into the Katana and the other into your dual foot switch.

    The TIP will switch between channel 1 and 2 and the RING between Bank A and B.

    Open circuit is CH2 Bank B.

    In the dual foot switch unit... TIP makes contact with the SLEEVE (ie goes to ground) the Katana will activate CH1. Bank is similar... open circuit is Bank B, TIP to ground changes to Bank A.

    More information then the OP asked... someone, somewhere at sometime may find useful...
     
    dscottyg likes this.
  7. Thrup'ny Bit

    Thrup'ny Bit Grand Master Curmudgeon

    Age:
    62
    Messages:
    41,677
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    £25 dual latching switch from Amazon does the job.
     
    ajb1965 likes this.
  8. PCollen

    PCollen Senior Stratmaster Silver Member

    Messages:
    3,024
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    FS-6 would be my choice ..the side by side switch configuration would suit me better than the over/under config of the FS7. And only one stereo cable is required, vs. two mono cables.
     
    ajb1965 likes this.
  9. ajb1965

    ajb1965 Old Enough to Know Better Gold Supporting Member Silver Member

    Age:
    55
    Messages:
    2,169
    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Location:
    Phx AZ - AKA The Surface of the sun
    The FS7 can also take a single TRS cable.

    Cheers
     
    dscottyg likes this.
  10. dscottyg

    dscottyg Strat-Talker

    Age:
    54
    Messages:
    191
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2021
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    The FS-6 runs on battery only. No way to plug it in The FS-7 can only be plugged in. No battery option.
     
    ajb1965 likes this.
  11. dscottyg

    dscottyg Strat-Talker

    Age:
    54
    Messages:
    191
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2021
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Ok. I just got the FS-6 on Sweetwater. I have an adapter that can attach to the 9 V battery attachment to try and plug it in.
     
  12. pazman6

    pazman6 Senior Stratmaster

    Messages:
    1,577
    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Location:
    Prairieville, Louisiana
    I used to connect a bunch of Boss FS-5L and FS-5U pedals together to control various channels and effects - great little foot switches.
    fs5u04.jpg
     
    dscottyg likes this.