Join Strat-Talk Today

Who likes ceramic pickups?

Discussion in 'Pickup Forum' started by htwheelz67, Jan 29, 2015.

1. htwheelz67

htwheelz67 Senior Stratmaster

I've been playing for 35+ years I have been on that "perfect sound hunt" forever. I love vintage a2, a3 a5 magnet pickups. I love humbuckers too same deal. Some of my favorite pickups have ceramic magnets, I like (not love) the sound of MIM ceramic single coils, they sound really "stratty" The 80's MIJ low output ceramic pickups almost sound more vintage to me than "real" vintage pickups. Humbuckers........Dimarzio super 3 was made by Dimarzio for Fender, looks super hot on paper but not really. D Allen Johnny Hiland set, dual blade with ceramic magnets and one of the best if not the best strat set I have ever heard. Who has the same experience?

2. Squier2Knight

Squier2Knight Strat-Talk Member

If you really want a traditional strat sound, you already know you don't really want ceramics. If you want a Strat to sound like something other than a Strat, ceramics (and then humbuckers) are a good start. I hate ceramics, but then some of the best pickups in the world are ceramics, and some of best players use them, and if you want that kind of a sound, you should embrace them.

I can't imagine the dual blade ceramics giving me the noiseless '54 (as if there ever was such a thing) sounds that my Lace Holy Grails (note that Holy Grails are not Lace Sensors, nor is the latter a bad thing) give. But then who am I to say as I haven't tried those Dimarzios. As far as specifically the 2 and 4 position Strat sounds, the MIM Robert Crays are the best I've heard.