1. Enter to Win one of two Strats we are giving away! An American Pro II Strat HSS and a Squier Classic Vibe Strat. To see the prizes and rules: https://www.strat-talk.com/pages/2020_Fundraiser_giveaway/ To enter: https://www.strat-talk.com/account/upgrades To enter, simply upgrade to silver (1 entry), gold (2 entries), platinum (5 entries), or double platinum supporting membership (10 entries). November 5th is the last day to enter!

Who's Good at Finishing/ Grain Filling?

Discussion in 'Tech-Talk' started by mshivy, Nov 3, 2016.

1. mshivy

mshivy Most Honored Senior Member

I've been grain filling an ash body. I have a few questions for any experienced finishers (I'm a complete amateur )

-How do you sand the inside of the horns?

-Do you prefer Vinyl or regular nitro sanding sealer?

-How many coats of Sanding Sealer would you do if spraying from an aerosol ?

Here's where I'm at now - I sprayed a brown toner to help lock in the filler, then I'm sanding the lacquer off. What a pain.
    IMG_3597.JPG

2. Miotch

Miotch Senior Stratmaster

I used Prismacolor Magic Rub white erasers with wet/dry sand paper on them everywhere I can. I sometimes use my finger tips for certain parts inside the top horn, but you can bend the eraser and hold the shape when you sand, too. One of the great things about using them as a sanding block is that once you start wet sanding on lacquer, the residue acts as a sticky glue to hold the sand paper on the eraser. just cut some rectangles of sandpaper and peel and stick a new one on the eraser as needed. It truly is a magic rub !! I've never sprayed sanding sealer from a can. But I'm guessing you won't be moving as much solid material from a spay can, so whatever you think is good, double it.

mshivy likes this.
  3. Matt_D

Matt_D Strat-O-Master

Getting the best possible finish starts with getting the best possible surface to apply the finish on to.