Why is my modded wa-wa pedal isn't functioning?

Discussion in 'DIY Effects Forum' started by alialxnunez, Jan 17, 2021.

1. alialxnunez

alialxnunez Strat-Talk Member

Hey guys I just modded my wa-wa pedal but it doesn't works for some reason... I want to know if any of u can help me.

Here's how I modded it.

Pls help me guys. You're my only hope. 20210117_213653.jpg

2. Stratoskater

Stratoskater Fuzz Meister General

The solder connects on that switch look terrible and the green wire is all chewed up or melted looking. Not sure what mod you did so without a schematic not sure what went wrong unless it’s a bad connection.

3. alialxnunez

i used this schematic

yeah I know it's my first time modding a pedal... don't judge me. :(

Attached Files:

4. StratUp

StratUp Strat-Talker

1) Need a bigger photo
    2) Did you take a photo beforehand?
    3) Does it work for straight through / no wah?

5. alialxnunez

no.. i don't have any sound of the guitar just static.
    no i didn't but it was just a normal buffered switch with the blue and white on the right and brown on the left. (in the schematic above i thick is seen like old switch)

Attached Files:

6. CigBurn

CigBurn Total Hack

Couple things jump out to me.. First I am assuming your black to center of the switch is ground.

Brown wire looks like it isn't soldered in both locations (circled)

Would also make sure your blue and white aren't arcing. I'd probably move the white, but thats just me.

Image1.jpg

Practice makes perfect. :)

7. alialxnunez

thank you thank you thank you

I'll try it first thing tomorrow. that was another thing I thought... does that means it goes soldered both ways but I didn't know so I'll try it. and okay I'll move the white one aside so it doesn't makes contact with the blue one. :)

8. StratUp

StratUp Strat-Talker

Is the switch oriented correctly? In other words, should it have been turned 90 degrees?